National committee of Geodesy and Geophysics

The national committee of geodesy and geophysics promotes geodetic and geophysical research and represents Finland in the International Union of Geodesy and Geophysics (IUGG). The national committee, as IUGG, is dedicated to advancing, promoting, and communicating knowledge of the Earth system, its space environment, the dynamical processes causing change and open data. The aim is to promote the sustainable use of both natural resources and the environment, to diminish the effects of natural disaster, to understand the natural environment and the environmental impacts of human activities.

Upon request, the national committee shall appoint representatives to the other Finnish national committees.

The IUGG was established in 1919 and is made up of eight associations, with the following English names and abbreviations:

  • International Association of Cryospheric Sciences (IACS)
  • International Association of Geodesy (IAG)
  • International Association of Geomagnetism and Aeronomy (IAGA)
  • International Association of Hydrological Sciences (IAHS)
  • International Association of Meteorology and Atmospheric Sciences (IAMAS)
  • International Association for the Physical Sciences of the Ocean (IAPSO)
  • International Association of Seismology and Physics of the Earth's Interior (IASPEI)
  • International Association of Volcanology and Chemistry of the Earth's Interior (IAVCEI)

The national committee shall consist of nine full members with voting rights. Of the full members, eight represent each of the associations referred to above and one represents the Geophysical Society of Finland (a rotating chair). In addition, the national committee may have additional non-voting

Committee members with voting rights:

  • IACS: Aku Riihelä (Finnish Meteorological Institute)
  • IAG: Jyri Näränen (National Land Survey of Finland)
  • IAGA: Heikki Vanhamäki (University of Oulu)
  • IAHS: Jari Uusikivi (Finnish Environment Institute)
  • IAMAS: Petteri Uotila (INAR, University of Helsinki)
  • IAPSO: Heidi Pettersson (Finnish Meteorological Institute)
  • IASPEI: Timo Tiira (Institute of Seismology, University of Helsinki)
  • IAVCEI: Tapani Rämö (Department of Geosciences and geography, University of Helsinki)
  • The Geophysical society of Finland: chair Laura Tuomi

Committee board 2023-2026:

  • Chair: Tapani Rämö, email: firstname.lastname (at)
  • Secretary: Toni Luoto, email: firstname.lastname (at)
  • Treasurer: Timo Saari, email: firstname.lastname (at)
  • National Delegate at the IUGG Council: Jyri Näränen: firstname.lastname (at)
  • Contact Person, Council of Finnish Academies: Suvi Salmi: firstname.lastname (at)

Contact details of the Committee:

Toni Luoto
Geological Survey of Finland, Geophysical Laboratory
P.O. Box 96 (Vuorimiehentie 5)
02151 ESPOO